TUI, easyJet, Jet2, BA, Ryanair: Germany latest to tighten restrictions on UK travelers

German public health authorities are tightening the country’s restrictions in an attempt to stop the spread of the Omicron variant.

From midnight today (Sunday 19 December) or 11 p.m. UK time, airlines will be banned from carrying UK tourists to Germany.

Travelers from the UK will not be allowed to enter Germany, only German citizens and residents, their partners and children will be allowed to travel.

Read more: Read the latest traffic and travel news

A 14-day quarantine is mandatory despite vaccination status, and anyone entering the country will have to undergo a negative PCR test.

The Robert-Koch-Institut announced the new rules on Saturday classifying the UK as an area of ​​concern for virus variants – the highest level of Covid risk.

He said the restrictions could last until at least January 3.

Germany is the latest of a number of countries to ban British travelers, with France doing so on Friday, December 17.

The following countries currently ban UK travelers:

  • Germany
  • Australia
  • Spain
  • Bhutan
  • Brunei
  • the falkland islands
  • Benign
  • Indonesia
  • China
  • Laos
  • New Zealand
  • Malaysia
  • Suriname
  • Taiwan
  • Burma

Have you been affected by the travel restrictions recently? Sign up here and let us know in the comments below.

Comments are closed.