Ryanair, Jet2, easyJet and TUI latest Foreign Ministry advice raised for 32 countries – full list


The Foreign Office has lifted its advice against non-essential travel to 32 countries and territories.

Bangladesh, Fiji, Gambia, Ghana and Malaysia are among the places where travel advice based on coronavirus risk has been relaxed, the Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office (FCDO) said.

The UK will stop advising Britons to avoid all but essential travel to countries not on the red list for reasons of Covid-19, except in “exceptional circumstances” such as if the local health system is overwhelmed , added the FCDO.

READ MORE: Red List Countries Set To Go Green This Week In “Robust Changes”

This will make it easier for people visiting these places to obtain travel insurance.

Before Wednesday’s changes, the FCDO was advising against non-essential travel due to the virus in 117 countries and territories.

The advisories are expected to be lifted for other locations in the coming days.

FCDO said the policy change follows “improved public health in many countries” and “reduced risk to British nationals” following the rollout of the vaccine.

It comes amid an easing of government rules for travelers entering the UK, with the traffic light system being phased out on Monday.

Fully vaccinated – and unvaccinated residents under the age of 18 – from more than 50 countries and territories can now arrive without taking a pre-departure lateral flow test, post-arrival PCR test on day 8, or self-help. isolate.

Foreign Secretary Liz Truss said: ‘These rule adjustments will make travel easier, support businesses and families across Britain – and allow more of us to see friends and loved ones with greater peace of mind.

“We strike the right balance between ensuring people’s safety, which remains our priority, and giving them the freedom to exercise their personal responsibility, while supporting the travel industry as it continues to recover.”

The full list of countries for which FCDO has relaxed its travel advice is: Algeria; Armenia; Bangladesh; Belarus; Benign; Comoros; Tokelau and Niue; Djibouti; Equatorial Guinea; Fiji; Gambia; Guinea; Kazakhstan; Kiribati; Kosovo; Liberia; Madagascar; Malaysia; Marshall Islands; Micronesia; Nauru; Sao Tome and Principe ; Senegal; The Solomon Islands; Go; Tonga; Tuvalu; Vanuatu; Congolese; America Samoa; French Polynesia; and Ghanaian.

FCDO will continue to advise against all but essential travel for all Red List countries where the risk to UK nationals is deemed “unacceptably high”.

Meanwhile, the government is expected to announce Thursday that it will reduce the red list.

There are currently 54 countries on the list, such as Mexico, Cuba, all of mainland South America, and southern and eastern Africa.

Anyone arriving in the UK from a Red Level location must spend 11 nights in a quarantine hotel.

It costs £ 2,285 for solo travelers, making these trips unaffordable for many people.

A decision on which countries will be removed from England’s red list is expected to be taken after a meeting of government ministers on Thursday.

The decentralized administrations of Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland have established their own travel rules, but have recently mirrored announcements made at Westminster.

Paul Charles, managing director of travel consultancy The PC Agency, predicted that only a handful of “less visited areas” such as Afghanistan, Haiti and Somalia would remain on the red list, with “general measures on l ‘Africa and South America being abolished “.

He told the PA news agency that this would be “a big step forward” because it means the government “will finally move to a policy of individual risk”.

Download the free LancsLive app for iPhone here and Android here.

To stay up to date, follow LancsLive on Facebook and @LiveLancs on Twitter.

Do you have any news for us? Contact our press service at [email protected]

For the latest news, sport and current affairs, sign up for the daily LancsLive newsletter here.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.