Jet2, TUI, Ryanair, BA, easyJet: All countries UK tourists will have to pay new tax to enter in 2022

New head tax rules come into effect for UK travelers looking to enjoy a well-deserved holiday this summer.

A total of 28 countries around the world are affected, including 26 countries in Europe, one in Asia and one city in the European Union.

Holidaymakers leaving the UK will need a European Travel Information and Authorization System (ETIAS) which costs €7.

READ MORE: All 28 countries still ban Brits from entering after France eases rules

The overhaul of the rules applies to current members of the Schengen agreement.

They include: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Tourism chiefs have confirmed there is also a charge for Venice while further afield Thailand is also charging a new entry fee of £6.60.

The Schengen area includes most EU countries (but not Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Romania or Ireland), reports Birmingham Live.

Applicants will be able to apply via an official website and/or application for mobile devices before the start of ETIAS operation and will be required to pay a fee of €7.

The date from which travelers can apply will be published on this site.

Download the LancsLive app for free at iPhone here and Android here.

To stay informed, follow LancsLive on Facebook and @LiveLancs on Twitter.

Do you have any news for us? Contact our press office at [email protected].

Get all the latest news, sport and stories delivered to your inbox daily with the LancsLive newsletter here.

Comments are closed.