Heathrow and Gatwick: Every TUI country will restart flights to after travel update, including Turkey, Egypt and Maldives



Following the government’s latest travel update on Friday, September 17, TUI updated the list of countries they now fly to.

The travel giant will take advantage of some of the eight travel destinations that will be removed from the red list as of tomorrow (Wednesday, September 22).

The red list of 62 will be reduced to 54, with Turkey, Pakistan, Egypt, Kenya, Maldives, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and Oman all being removed as of 4 a.m. tomorrow.

READ MORE: US reopens travel lane to allow passengers from UK and EU

Travelers from the UK will be able to get flights with TUI to Turkey, Egypt and the Maldives after tomorrow’s update, when they are moved to the bottom of the Amber List.

TUI also already operates flights to Spain, Italy and Greece, which are currently on the Amber List.

Anyone traveling to an Amber List country is currently required to be tested for COVID-19 to return to the UK, and may also be required to self-isolate at home for 10 days upon return.

TUI is incentivizing passengers with a ‘Holiday Promise’ scheme whereby travelers can get Covid test packages for £ 20 per person, as well as ‘Covid Cover’ which allows for free changes on selected bookings up to 14 days before the trip.

Starting October 4, a major overhaul of the traffic light travel system will simplify travel by removing green and amber lists, so only the red list remains, and pre-departure tests will also be removed for those who return to England.

By the end of October, fully vaccinated passengers will be able to simply undergo a lateral flow test rather than the currently required second-day PCR test.

As for when travelers can expect countries to be redlisted, it has been widely recognized as nearly impossible to predict, much to the growing frustration of travel industry executives.

Mark Tanzer, Managing Director of the Abta Travel Association, said: “We need more countries to be redlisted in due course.

“The government needs to be much more transparent in its criteria for listing countries and it should only be retained for the management of known variants of concern.”

Here is the full list of25 destinations TUI now flies to:

  • Turkey (orange list from September 22 at 4 a.m.)
  • Balearic Islands (orange list)
  • Greece (orange list)
  • Maldives (orange list from September 22 at 4 a.m.)
  • the Canary Islands (orange list)
  • Egypt (orange list from September 22 at 4 a.m.)
  • Madeira and Porto Santo (green list)
  • Cyprus (orange list)
  • Spain (orange list)
  • Italy (orange list)
  • Croatia (green list)
  • Morocco (orange list)
  • St. LUCIA (orange list)
  • Portugal (orange list)
  • Dubai (orange list)
  • Malta (green list)
  • Barbados (green list)
  • Antigua (green list) – travel from October 1
  • Mauritius (orange list) – travel from October 1
  • Iceland (green list)
  • Lapland (green list)
  • grenada (green list)
  • Gibraltar (green list)
  • Switzerland (green list)
  • Jersey (green list)

For full advice on the list of travel destinations TUI is heading to now, check out their website here.

For local stories and the latest news from London and the UK tailored to your preferences, sign up for one of our personalized newsletters here.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.